Post new topic Reply to topic
Author
Message
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 08:19
Offline

Joined: 27 Oct 2006, 11:23
Posts: 1470
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 37 times
Will D wrote:
Can i use Xponent & Conectiv for 4 deck control ? With platter on Xponent for TSP2 ?

I've wanted an Audio8 but as its discontinued I guess for the moment i'll still use Torq until I can afford an Audio10!

Is it worth selling off Xponent & Conectiv for some behringer controllers and an Audio10?

Who's even going to buy an Xponent now!? Arghhhh


You can, however, map your Xponent using MIDI modifiers in Traktor to control four decks in internal mixing mode. The platters on the Xponent work fine for Traktor Pro. If you want vinyl control, you need an A6, A8, or A10. You can probably find an A8 used, since the transition just happened and people are selling sh*t off. However, the A8 only supports two vinyl decks. The A10 supports four, but requires external power at all times.

I can't speak to the Behringer controllers until I use them, but I know the guy who designed them, and he's a genius.

If you get the Behringer controllers, why bother with the A10? Just mix internally, on MIDI.

And I have no idea who buys an Xponent now.

EDIT: To be honest, if you don't desperately need vinyl control (and you probably don't if you're not a turntablist) you should just get the Traktor Pro 2 software (after it's upgraded, in case this is going to be a paid upgrade) and create a MIDI map for your Xponent. It maps very well to that purpose, and I've done it, several times.


_________________

Lenovo Ideapad y560p, 2630QM Sandy Bridge i7, 8 GB RAM, Xponent, A8DJ, Conectiv
Torq Version: 2.0.2
TTX, Ortofon Pro S, Shure M-44G

Last edited by Punky on 24 Jan 2012, 08:26, edited 1 time in total.
Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 08:20
Offline

Joined: 27 Oct 2006, 11:23
Posts: 1470
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 37 times
Will D wrote:
Pretty much seems how it is now.

If they want us to stay they need to come up with some communication by the end of this week or they're going to have lost a lot of Main users & pushers of the product.

Such a shame.


Yeah, a lot of us were waiting till NAMM to see what might happen...






Well, now we know.


_________________

Lenovo Ideapad y560p, 2630QM Sandy Bridge i7, 8 GB RAM, Xponent, A8DJ, Conectiv
Torq Version: 2.0.2
TTX, Ortofon Pro S, Shure M-44G

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 08:36
Offline
Moderator (Non-Employee)
User avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2006, 12:22
Posts: 7175
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Has thanked: 8 times
Have thanks: 139 times
If you're inferring that Air has anything to do with the product listed on Skratchworx, as far as I know, that's not true.

The author opened with this:
"Berlin feels like the silicon valley of music production. Ableton are there, as are Native Instruments."

I was adding that it's more than Ableton and NI in Berlin/Germany - Air is also there and developed Torq 2.0.

I'm interested in the product. I'm interested in what Traktor does next as well. My statement was NOT meant to start a rumor, innuendo or anything of the sort. It was all about adding the Air team to the list of groups in Germany, and to show my own personal interest in the product. NOTHING MORE. :roll: Damn! I've spent more than 10 years doing computer security work and I'm pretty paranoid... you guys make me look like a 1960's Woodstock attendee who's dropped acid and is on a really good trip.... WOW....

What I do know is that Torq got a MAJOR overhaul in 2.0 completely gutting large sections of the software and replacing it to make it more expanded and flexible. NO ONE has the underpinnings and potential for flexibility that Torq does. NO ONE. Sure Torq is missing a few things like colored waveforms, could use more cue points, and a trick or two (like drag/drop a loop to a sampler) - but the people who are here are still using Torq and want it to be a great product...

As far as 'releases' - when Torq releases an update every 90-120 days they're 'too slow' and everyone complains - but when NI does it suddenly they're a golden child? Hint: 90-120 days between releases is 3 to 4 a year. And no, Torq hasn't maintained that, but even when they WERE doing that people complained!

I own a LOT of DJ software. I've been looking for a product that matches my workflow... I always have.

Torq has been THE software for me for the last 5+ years. I have Traktor, and it's nice. I upgraded the LE copy that came with some hardware I bought to the Pro version (not scratch). I've been using MixMeister for nearly as long as I've been using Torq - maybe longer. Why? Because sometimes I need automation that Torq can't provide. If I need to play a series of clips I could use the sampler. But I'm limited to 18 (unless I hack the software. ;) ). But it's much easier for me to load them into MixMeister Fusion in the order I need, set the transition to pause, and midi map the play button so that I just hit one button as I go through and the samples fire in order. BTW, MixMeister hasn't gotten an update in a REAL long time.... a year or more by my last count. And both of the people using it aren't complaining.... (ok, it's more than two. :mrgreen: But since the sold the product to Numark it's stagnated.).

I've used a LOT of different software... but I keep coming back to Torq. Yes, it's nice with the hardware integrates really well with Traktor. The Staton System 3 works very well with it. But I've got a lot of it working with Torq as well. If I had a week or two I could probably midi map the hell out of the system 3 to work with Torq and provide functionality that would blow your mind. But I don't... And there in lies the problem... third party support.

Don't get me wrong, I fully understand where your frustrations lie. I fully understand why it's so frustrating. But we can only keep asking and hoping for the best. All I know is Torq 2.0 is head and shoulders above the other options where it really matters. It has functionality that I haven't even scratched the surface of yet... And if I jump ship Traktor is the closest product - but it's not likely where I'll land in the end. I'm always looking for creative software that will allow me to push myself. Torq has been that for a long time and I hope it is for a long time into the future. If Avid doesn't step up, I can only hope they sell the product off to someone who does something with it instead of it rotting and disappearing...


_________________

SL1200MKII/CD-DJ1x4/Trigger Finger/X-Session Pro/Xponentx2/MD-P1/MidiSport Uno/Conectivx2/Torq
http://www.FirstDayEntertainment.com
Wedding DJ and Master of Ceremonies serving Pensacola, Florida.

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 08:45
Offline

Joined: 27 Oct 2006, 11:23
Posts: 1470
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 37 times
To be fair, I wasn't complaining when the updates were coming out every few months. But when it's basically shelved at Winter NAMM, the biggest event for DJ gear all year, just a year after a major upgrade... that says something, doesn't it?

I'm glad it's still working for you, but here's the deal for me - I'm not going to bother to prep a bajillion tracks in Torq just to see it get abandoned. That will be hours upon hours upon hours of work wasted, whereas if I do the same thing in Traktor, I'm more or less assured that the software will continue.

As for talking to Avid - I don't have the time to shout at a brick wall. I've been here since 06 doing that.


_________________

Lenovo Ideapad y560p, 2630QM Sandy Bridge i7, 8 GB RAM, Xponent, A8DJ, Conectiv
Torq Version: 2.0.2
TTX, Ortofon Pro S, Shure M-44G

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 08:56
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 2008, 21:46
Posts: 1046
Location: Chicago, IL
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 37 times
Will D wrote:
Who's even going to buy an Xponent now!? Arghhhh


You would be surprised.

Someone in England bought my Final Scratch setup...even months after it was killed and everyone ran to Serato and Traktor.

I'll just eBay it all...someone in Europe will probably buy it.


_________________

My uber-cool signature...

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 09:12
Offline

Joined: 27 Oct 2006, 11:23
Posts: 1470
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 37 times
Haha nice. To be fair, the Xponent is a great MIDI controller, and since it sends MIDI, it can be mapped to anything. It works well with Traktor.


_________________

Lenovo Ideapad y560p, 2630QM Sandy Bridge i7, 8 GB RAM, Xponent, A8DJ, Conectiv
Torq Version: 2.0.2
TTX, Ortofon Pro S, Shure M-44G

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 09:37
Offline

Joined: 15 Apr 2009, 06:40
Posts: 431
Has thanked: 12 times
Have thanks: 25 times
2.0.3 is out since what? September?
Avid Torq product page is still referring to 2.0.2 as the last version.
http://www.avid.com/US/products/Torq-2
Incredible!


_________________

http://sonuslabstudio.com
HP G62 - Intel P6100 2.0 GHz - 320gb HD - 4 GB RAM - Windows 7 x64
M-Audio Torq Conectiv 1.0.7 and 2.0.3
2x Technics 1210mk2 + Ortofon Concorde Pro + 4 Channel Mixer

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 09:38
Offline

Joined: 27 Oct 2006, 11:23
Posts: 1470
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 37 times
::sigh::


_________________

Lenovo Ideapad y560p, 2630QM Sandy Bridge i7, 8 GB RAM, Xponent, A8DJ, Conectiv
Torq Version: 2.0.2
TTX, Ortofon Pro S, Shure M-44G

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 10:10
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 12 Dec 2008, 12:43
Posts: 279
Location: Colchester UK
Has thanked: 48 times
Have thanks: 17 times
The store where I get my stuff from still don't have it for sale, even tho I told them it was out & they stock Torq control vinyl!! They still sell Torq advertised with the 1.5 upgrade!!!


_________________

2x Technics 1210 mk2's
Stanton 500 DJ Carts
Pioneer DMJ-600
Native Instruments Audio 8DJ Soundcard
NI Multicores

Torq 2.0.3
Windows 7 (32bit)
Samsung 2.1ghz Laptop
Dual Core (Intel Pentium)
3gb RAM

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 10:17
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Feb 2008, 02:48
Posts: 714
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY USA
Has thanked: 8 times
Have thanks: 18 times
Will D wrote:
Pretty much seems how it is now.

If they want us to stay they need to come up with some communication by the end of this week or they're going to have lost a lot of Main users & pushers of the product.

Such a shame.



Yeah, we keep threatening to leave... We could just come up with a rumor that Avid supports SOPA, that could do the trick for sure :twisted:


_________________

Xponent/Connectiv/SL-1210MK2s/AKAI MPD32/Win 7 64bit
Audio 8 / TRaktor Scratch Pro

http://www.dvsdjtv.com

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 10:24
Offline

Joined: 27 Oct 2006, 11:23
Posts: 1470
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 37 times
At six pages, this is one of the longest threads in a while. Please listen Avid.


_________________

Lenovo Ideapad y560p, 2630QM Sandy Bridge i7, 8 GB RAM, Xponent, A8DJ, Conectiv
Torq Version: 2.0.2
TTX, Ortofon Pro S, Shure M-44G

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 10:44
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Feb 2008, 02:48
Posts: 714
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY USA
Has thanked: 8 times
Have thanks: 18 times
Punky wrote:
At six pages, this is one of the longest threads in a while. Please listen Avid.


I don't care if they listen or not, I'm just trying to out post DJMarshy to gain spot #28 on most posts list! :mrgreen:


_________________

Xponent/Connectiv/SL-1210MK2s/AKAI MPD32/Win 7 64bit
Audio 8 / TRaktor Scratch Pro

http://www.dvsdjtv.com

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 11:11
Offline

Joined: 27 Oct 2006, 11:23
Posts: 1470
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 37 times
Everyone's got priorities, I suppose. Where do they list that, anyway?


_________________

Lenovo Ideapad y560p, 2630QM Sandy Bridge i7, 8 GB RAM, Xponent, A8DJ, Conectiv
Torq Version: 2.0.2
TTX, Ortofon Pro S, Shure M-44G

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 11:20
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 25 Feb 2008, 02:48
Posts: 714
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY USA
Has thanked: 8 times
Have thanks: 18 times
Punky wrote:
Everyone's got priorities, I suppose. Where do they list that, anyway?


memberlist.php?g=11467&mode=group&sk=d&sd=d


_________________

Xponent/Connectiv/SL-1210MK2s/AKAI MPD32/Win 7 64bit
Audio 8 / TRaktor Scratch Pro

http://www.dvsdjtv.com

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 11:33
Offline

Joined: 27 Oct 2006, 11:23
Posts: 1470
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 37 times
Found it a few minutes ago actually. Dude, I'm in the top 10!


_________________

Lenovo Ideapad y560p, 2630QM Sandy Bridge i7, 8 GB RAM, Xponent, A8DJ, Conectiv
Torq Version: 2.0.2
TTX, Ortofon Pro S, Shure M-44G

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 12:20
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2007, 00:51
Posts: 3079
Location: Canterbury, UK
Has thanked: 244 times
Have thanks: 80 times
Yay I came in third!

Bronze Xponent, Conectiv, BX8a's, BX10 & some headphones for me please :D

Did I mention the Bronze... I want it Solid, No plated bullsh*t!

:mrgreen: :twisted:


_________________

Thank Phat.com
Torq 2.0.3
Dell Inspiron E1705 1.7ghz DualCore, 2gb ram, 120gb hdd, XP Pro sp3
Xponent, Conectiv, 2x Technics 1200, Akai MPD24, DDM4000 w/ innofader
Sennheiser HD-25cII

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 12:30
Offline

Joined: 27 Oct 2006, 11:23
Posts: 1470
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 37 times
I'd love some BX8As.


_________________

Lenovo Ideapad y560p, 2630QM Sandy Bridge i7, 8 GB RAM, Xponent, A8DJ, Conectiv
Torq Version: 2.0.2
TTX, Ortofon Pro S, Shure M-44G

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 13:02
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 12 Mar 2007, 00:51
Posts: 3079
Location: Canterbury, UK
Has thanked: 244 times
Have thanks: 80 times
Punky wrote:
I'd love some BX8As.

Yes me too HINT HINT AVID :)


_________________

Thank Phat.com
Torq 2.0.3
Dell Inspiron E1705 1.7ghz DualCore, 2gb ram, 120gb hdd, XP Pro sp3
Xponent, Conectiv, 2x Technics 1200, Akai MPD24, DDM4000 w/ innofader
Sennheiser HD-25cII

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 14:02
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2011, 20:38
Posts: 87
Location: Topeka, KS
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 2 times
I'm #340!! I'll take a stale package of crackers or some pocket lint!


_________________

email djghostmba@gmail.com - Twitter @djghostmba

Stanton SA-5 w/ Innofader
Numark TTX-1 (x2)
Connectiv, Audio 8 DJ, Xponent
Torq 2.03 & 1.0.7
win 7, intel p6200, 4gb ram

Top
  Profile  
Post subject: Re: NAMM Torq Rumors?
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2012, 14:08
Offline

Joined: 05 Oct 2007, 13:19
Posts: 419
Location: The Rockies
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 28 times
LOl... I am pretty far behind as well :)


_________________


Macbook Pro, S.Leopard 6.8
Numark TTXs
Denon SC2000s
Denon x1600
Novation Dicers

NI Multi-Core Cables 4-Sale

Top
  Profile  
Display posts from previous:   Sort by   
Search for:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

cron